Compassionate Communities CoP

Compassionate Communities Conceptual Model

The conceptual model for our provincial level Compassionate Communities CoP is a combination of population health promotion (PHAC, 2012); the Ottawa Charter (WHO, 1986); the Chronic Disease Management Model (Group Health Research Institute 2003), and Accountable Communities for Health (Cantor 2015)

Purpose

The purpose for this Community of Practice is to connect individuals in Ontario that are actively involved in a structured Compassionate Community project and offer an infrastructure to support these individuals in sharing knowledge and information.

Goals of the CoP

  • To facilitate a forum for dialogue and exchange of information
  • To share outcomes for comparable learning
  • To grow leadership skills and capacity
  • To provide opportunities to support individuals within the field
  • To foster collaboration and innovation (i.e., technology; population-level risk screening)
  • To create synergy and identify common projects
  • To enhance capacity
  • To cultivate best practices
  • To develop as an active and engaged community of practice advancing the goals.

To become a member of the Compassionate Communities of Ontario Community of Practice, please click here.

Criteria for Membership: 

Open to any individual who is:

  • interested in learning more about Compassionate Communities
  • interested in assisting with disseminating tools, resources, promotion and awareness of Compassionate Communities
  • considering beginning their own Compassionate Communities initiative
  • working in a structured organization participating in a Compassionate Community/City initiative in Ontario
  • working on a Compassionate Communities initiative that has begun community engagement, and/or identified a project sponsor, and/or secured resources or funding

Benefits of Becoming a Member:

  • More perspective and understanding of the problems and issues Improved solutions 
  • Shared Practice = Less duplication and reduced cost and time
  • Shared Knowledge = Stronger workforce and more sources of expertise 
  • Meaningful participation = Improved performance and outcomes
  • Increased trust and confidence = Increased success and sustainability

Compassionate Communities Community of Practice Project Members in Ontario

Interested in volunteering or partnering with any of the Compassionate Communities listed below, feel free to connect with the contacts via email.

  1. WECCC (Windsor and Essex County) – Deborah Sattler deborah@deborahsattler.ca
  2. Compassionate Brock University (St. Catherines) – Hannah Rongits hr17sh@brocku.ca
  3. Compassionate Communities Peel: Heart House Hospice (Peel and Halton Regions) – Jodi Pereira JPereira@hearthousehospice.com
  4. Hospice Toronto: Creating Care Communities (Toronto) – Dena Maule dena.maule@hospicetoronto.ca
  5. Neighbours: Population Health Solutions Lab (Toronto) – Sonia Guadry Sonia.Gaudry@sinaihealthsystem.ca
  6. Matthews House Hospice (South Simcoe) – Eyrn Manchanda emanchanda@matthewshousehospice.ca
  7. Evergreen Hospice (Markham, Stouffville, Thornhill)- Jan Pearce jpearce@evgcares.org
  8. Compassionate Communities Kingston (Kingston) – Florence Campbell florence.campbell@queensu.ca
  9. Compassionate Ottawa (Ottawa) – Jim Nininger jrnininger@rogers.com
  10. Hospice Orillia (North Simcoe Muskoka) – Stefanie Collins stefanie@hospiceorillia.ca
  11. Bruce Peninsula (Bruce Peninsula and Georgian Bluffs) – Nancy Forgrave manager@bphospice.ca
  12. Carpenter House (Burlington) – Janet Gadeski jgadeski2@gmail.com
  13. McNally House Hospice (West Niagara) – Amanda Black ablack@mcnallyhousehospice.com
  14. Hospice of Waterloo Region (Waterloo) – Judy Nairn judy@hospicewaterloo.ca
  15. Camp Kerry Society – Shelley Hermer shelley@campkerry.org
  16. Ottawa Paramedic Service (Ottawa) – Amanda Foubert amanda.foubert@ottawa.ca
  17. Hospice Vaughan (Vaughan) – Belinda Marchese belinda.marchese@hospicevaughan.com
  18. Dorothy Ley Hospice (Toronto, Etobicoke, Mississauga) – Dipti Purboo dpurbhoo@dlhospice.org 
  19. Compassionate Toronto (Toronto) – Marira Rugg mrugg@rogers.com
  20. Hospice Northwest (Thunder Bay) – Cherie Kok Cherie@hospicenorthwest.ca
  21. Hospice Kingston (Kingston) – Allen Prowse allen.prowse@kingstonhsc.ca
  22. Philip Aziz Centre (Toronto) – Amanda Maragos amandam@philipazizcentre.ca
  23. The Sisters of St. Joseph of Sault Ste. Marie (North Bay) – Bonnie MacLellan bmaclellan@csjssm.ca
  24. Neshama Hospice (Toronto) – Robert Kamen robert.kamen@neshamahospice.com
  25. HELP Ottawa (Ottawa) – Hayley Miloff hayley.miloff@carleton.ca
  26. Chapman House Residential Hospice of Grey Bruce (Owen Sound) – Lisa Campbell lcampbell@greybrucehospice.com